Are Older Models Better? YES!!!

You know, I was sitting here today thinking what to write about, and I have to say that the only thing I want to talk about right now is older cars. Not like 50’s models or anything like that, but cars that are out there, not being made anymore, that have been replaced by newer models. I guess what I mean by doing this is to say that I really want to drive some of them, even though there are newer, and presumably (although not always the case) better cars out there. Let me show you what I mean.

The Ferrari F40. There, I typed it. It really is a wonder to behold even by just looking at the name of the car on the screen. I know that it was made in 1987 and I know that there are better cars out there, but I really want to drive this one. I lust after it. It makes the hair on the back of my neck stand up if I think about it. I saw one, once, in 2005 at the now infamous Indianapolis Grand Prix. (Google it if you don’t know). It was sitting, in all its red glory, outside a hotel at night and it had a Competizione wing on it and massively uncomfortable, yet practical, racing buckets. It was, in a word, supercalifragilisticexpialidocious. I never said it would be a short word. Anyway, this car was amazing, and for obvious reasons – twin turbo V-8 and three exhaust pipes – sounded like the automotive equivalent of god speaking. I watched, in awe, as it was started up. It then proceeded to drive away. In its wake followed the other Ferrari – a 308 – that I heard the guy got as a gift for buying the F40! What a deal. But the main point is this; I really want to experience this car. It is not a matter of “I need to experience the fastest or the best,” because that is not what this car is (although some would argue for it). No. I want to drive it because it has character. It is essentially a carbon fiber bathtub that has the steering wheel and pedals slightly more to the center of the car than they should be. It has a ginormous rear wing, a plastic rear window/engine cover and some of the worst turbo lag ever. But it doesn’t matter. It is a legend and better looking and better sounding than almost every modern Ferrari. I adore it.

There is another car out there now that really has the press going nutzo for it; the GT-R. Those three seemingly innocuous letters, when put together in the right order, make people (including me) swoon. And maybe it’s because the car was never offered here before this newest model. Maybe it’s because I could only ever drive one in a video game. And maybe it’s because the car has a long and storied past. But although I want to have one, there is another, older car that I want first (although I will never, ever, ever in a million years, have one, or possibly even see one in person). The car I am referring to is the holy grail of almost all Subaru owners; the 22b. It is a model unto itself in many ways. It is of the same basic shape as other classic Imprezas and yet it epitomizes everything that should have been with the new one. It was fast, it was limited, and it was nasty looking. It was built under the strict rule that it was to be the ultimate, and it didn’t disappoint. It had an enlarged heart – 2.2 liters of destructive fury – and was good for estimates over 320hp (although the Japanese were limited to 280 by law). It was bulging at the seams thanks to a wide body kit and had an adjustable rear wing depending on whether you wanted to swing down to the shops or blast around the Nurburgring. (Ooh another possible blog entry). This was one of those special editions (and with only 400 ever produced, very special indeed) that was only available overseas and came here only on press junkets. It is almost untouchable for a Subaru Impreza enthusiast such as myself and I so desperately want one. Would I commit unspeakable acts to have one? That has yet to be determined.

And what about the new RS4 or the new Z4 M Coupe? I would argue that both cars were better (both in looks and functionality) in their previous incarnations. How about this dear reader? I will write about these tomorrow or the next day because I seriously have to get back to my real job today. But what do you think? Yea or Nay on the older model being better. Drop me a line and express your opinions.

4 responses to “Are Older Models Better? YES!!!

  1. I would agree with your views. I used to have a 2000 2.5RS and could not wait when I heard that the WRX was coming to the states. Then I saw the car and could not figure out what Subaru was thinking? No offense to any owners but the GC8 was in my opinion the nicest looking Subaru ever! I think Subaru and the newest STi are just going down hill. And I would also comment that I think it’s the looks of the car that really made older cars better because my RS certainly did not have the creature comforts that todays Subaru’s have. Enough on Subaru’s, I also feel that older Porsche’s are better looking than newer ones. Such as my personal favorite the 1976 934 which was basically a 911 turbo with a wide body kit for racing as well as other extras. To look at a 1976 Porsche 911 turbo the design could almost make it in todays standards, it was almost ahead of it’s time. I am not saying that I don’t like new cars because there are some that I do like but I think in some instances the old ones are far superior.

  2. autopinionsbyvolk

    As you might be able to tell from my profile and picture there, I actually do own a 2.5RS, so I’m glad you mentioned it.

  3. I love my BMW.

  4. Nothing is better than the Ferrari F40. I absolutely love this car and always will!

Leave a Reply

