Top 10: Audi RS4

So…it’s been a while since I posted something other than F1 news, so I thought I would try something different and continue with my top 10 list that somehow got left in the dust. I am on one of my favorite all time cars, the Audi RS4. For most of you, the RS4 is a new car; one that just came on the scene to challenge the BMW M3 and the Mercedes AMG whatever. But that isn’t the RS4 I am talking about. No, my RS4 is based on the B5 Audi A4 and was made from 2000-2001. This car was never imported to the US, so it is not very well known here, unless you have played it in video games or have been to Europe or…I guess…surf the Internet. But anyway…

This was a car that I lusted over and that I actually already blogged about here. The RS4 came with a twin-turbo 2.7 liter 6 cylinder engine that produced 380 hp and 325 ft lbs of torque. With power numbers like that, the car could sprint to 60 in about five seconds and it would easily top 170 mph if you took the top speed limiter off. Besides the outstanding performance numbers, this car was notable because it only came as an estate. Or rather, it was a wagon. It would seat five comfortably and have enough room in the back to carry a load of groceries, hundreds of dogs or even nothing at all if you wanted the best performance. And it was happy to give it. The car was equipped with a six-speed manual transmission and the famous Quattro All Wheel Drive system.

            As with many big-engined Audis it wasn’t particularly sporty enough to keep up with the M3s and the AMGs, but it would certainly do for me. I love it because it always has traction, will always be fast and would probably surprise quite a lot of people because of the understated looks. Sure it has a wide body kit on it, bigger wheels, wider tires and a big gaping front bumper, but people would still dismiss it as a wagon first. And that is where this car succeeds. Not only is it deceptively fast, but it does so without drawing undue attention toward itself. And it can haul a bunch of stuff. This is why the 2000-2001 Audi RS4 is one of my top 10 cars.

2 responses to “Top 10: Audi RS4

  1. Pingback: Top Ten: Lotus Motor Sport Elise « Autopinionsbyvolk’s Weblog

  2. couldnt agree more

    love my b5

    taking her off to germany in two weeks

    m

Leave a Reply

