German GP Preview and Predictions

It’s been three weeks since the Formula One grid was last assembled and there are still the persistent rumors of a breakaway series off the track, while on the track, there have been a surprise or two for some and some normal running for others.

On Wednesday, the FIA and FOTA had a meeting that FOTA ended up walking out on. The reasoning was that Charlie Whiting told them they (the FOTA teams) were not officially a part of the F1 championship for next season yet. I don’t really have a clear understanding of this whole new thing, but I can assure you that all the facts will come out sooner or later, because both sides have to come to terms or get off the pot.

On the track, there are rumors that Sebastian Bourdais and Nelson “Don’t Call Me Junior” Piquet may be driving in either their last race, or their last season, unless another team is willing to give them a shot. This is really nothing new, and both of these drivers know full well that they have to perform well to keep their seats, but neither of them is in a competitive car, so I don’t know what they are really supposed to do, other than race their teammate, which is impossible for Jr., and something that should come naturally – but hasn’t yet – for Bourdais. I figure that it will be the last season for Bourdais, as he doesn’t seem to be able to compete at this level with his younger and less experienced teammates, while Jr. may get another shot with a different team after this year, as he can still somewhat rely on his name at this point and he is slightly more consistent than Bourdais and some others. It should be noted though, that the Renault chassis is a beast and that even double World Champion Fernando Alonso has to wrestle it all over the track at every race.

And at the front of the pack, for the first time since last year, was Lewis Hamilton! Though for the record, I believe that it was all for show and that he will fade come qualifying and the actual race. I’ve been proven wrong before, but I don’t think that I will this time. Actually, I would like for Lewis to prove me wrong. Go ahead Lewis, do your worst. The real race was taking place just behind him on the timesheets with the Red Bulls of Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber being split by Jenson Button in his Brawn. So, who do I like in the German GP? It has to be Vettel. I know that the last time a race went down I predicted Button to win his home GP, but he disappointed. I don’t see the same from Vettel. If nothing else, I look for this to be a very close race between him and his teammate Webber for the checkered flag. And as much as I would like to see Webber finally win a race, this just isn’t the place where he is going to do it. So, I predict Vettel home in first, Webber a close second and Button third. Unless something very peculiar happens – for instance, a huge wreck at the first corner – I don’t see anyone stopping Vettel from completely demolishing the competition. The rest of the points scorers will be Barrichello, Massa, Trulli, Hamilton and then one of the other Germans (Heidfeld, Sutil, Rosberg or Glock).

Check back Monday to see how my results panned out.

Leave a Reply

