The New Cars

This is only the first of a couple of posts. Basically, it is just a collection of some pictures of the first batch of new cars. Let’s get down to it then.

The Mercedes GP car with Michael Schumacher

The McLaren MP4/25 with Lewis Hamilton

The Ferrari F10 with Fernando Alonso

New Renault R30 with Robert Kubica

Sauber with Kamui Kobayashi

Newly designed STR with Sebastian Buemi

New Virgin Racing machine

Williams with Nico Hulkenberg

What strikes me most about these cars so far is that they don’t look as bad as they did last year. Maybe I’m getting used to the new design, or maybe it’s because I haven’t had a chance to really see them in motion, but they are not all that bad. However, I will caution that some of these cars from the side – especially the new Sauber – are horrifying. It looks like a giant Killer Whale on the track. There are still a few more manufacturers to go before we see the whole grid, but this is what we have for now.

2 responses to “The New Cars

  1. I’m surprised that the cars aren’t looking more similar – seems as if they are all working in different directions (which I think is a good thing.) Mercedes and Ferrari seem to have aggressive aero this year. I’m most curious about how the Virgin car will run as it was primarily developed through computer simulation – no wind tunnels. As far as liveries go, my favorite has to be the Mercedes…and how can you go wrong with the Ferrari? 🙂

  2. autopinionsbyvolk

    I agree, though I have to say that the car I am most interested to see is the USF1 car. It makes me wonder how much of a difference there is between computational fluid dynamics and actual wind tunnel testing. Should be interesting.

Leave a Reply

