My Letter to Full Throttle Productions

As some of you know, Full Throttle Productions is the outfit behind the recently hyped up USGP in Austin, Texas. While I still don’t think it will fly, I wanted to share with you the letter I sent them, and their response.

My Letter –

Hi,
My name is Josh and I have been following this story now since it
broke just a few days ago and I have to wonder, where will the money
come from and where will the track actually be built? It seems to me
that the state of Texas is in debt up to its eyeballs (much like every
other state) and that there is only one major Interstate highway that
runs through Austin, and that is 35, which runs north to south and not
near the airport. If the track is going to be located 10 miles from
the airport, won’t there be simply massive traffic jams to contend
with? We have already seen with Silverstone that traffic tends to get
on Bernie’s nerves, as they had to build an entirely new road system
to and from the track, and even that didn’t fully solve the problem.
Is the plan to actually build a larger road system to the track as
well? Where will that money come from then? I’m not sure that a state
filled with NASCAR fans will want to have state or city taxes raised
just to accommodate a foreign sport that they don’t care about. Sure
the city will get increased revenue from the fans who will spend more
than the typical NASCAR fan will, but that will be only one weekend a
year. Also, I’m fairly sure that Texas gets really hot in the summer,
when the race will go hand-in-hand with the Canadian Grand Prix, and I
hope that when you include plans for the grand stands, that those
plans include shaded areas. I doubt that I will ever hear back about
any of these concerns personally, but I expect some of them to be
answered in time with more announcements. I just felt that I had to
actually express my concerns through these questions and hope that
more info becomes available soon.

Thank you very much,
Josh Volk

Their first response –

Thank you for contacting Full Throttle Productions, L.P. and the Formula 1 United States Grand Prix (TM).

Due to the overwhelming response from fans and media around the world we will respond to your email as soon as possible.

We look forward to seeing you in Austin, Texas in 2012 for the return of Formula 1 to the United States.

Personally, I didn’t think I would hear back from them ever again, but it seems as though they are trying their darndest to make sure everyone knows what is happening and where and when, and just today, I found this letter in my inbox –

Josh ,

Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding the Formula 1 United States Grand Prix™ coming to Austin. We understand that there are many questions about the event and we look forward to providing answers and more information about this milestone project that has been thoughtfully in the works for several years.

We will be launching a project website within the next week or so to keep all interested parties up to speed. We will be sharing information about the Formula 1 United States Grand Prix™ in Austin as well as F1 Grand Prix events being held across the world. Over the course of the summer, we will be releasing information on our website and to our fans regarding:

  • Site location;
  • Master plan;
  • Facility renderings; and
  • Track layout.

We look forward to sharing more with you soon! Stay tuned…

Full Throttle Management

If this sounds a little like the US Grand Prix team that was supposed to be on the F1 grid this year, then you have a good nose. I am not sure what will happen from this, but I am going to sit back and let it all ride out. Hopefully, we will find out more soon. Hell, maybe I’ll even get a few more emails from them. If and when I do, I will pass them along on here for all to see.

Austin Texas

Downtown Austin Texas

3 responses to “My Letter to Full Throttle Productions

  1. According to local news the Austin GP will be close to 130 a new major highway.

  2. Bob,
    Thanks for the comment. Obviously, that was, and still remains, a major concern for the people trying to get into and out of the track area. But is this major highway being built right now? Or would it be constructed in conjunction with the track? If it is being built right now, that would give some indication of where that track would eventually be located.

  3. All of you working on the track, go for it ,im praying for you ,be cool Garry

Leave a Reply

