Belgian Grand Prix Predictions and Senna Film

Well, Formula One is back on, and it’s no surprise who is at the top of the list after qualifying. Usually I make my predictions on Friday, but I was busy yesterday seeing a little documentary called “Senna.” But I will get to that in a moment. Spa is one of those racetracks, much like the old Nordschleife, that can have changeable conditions almost minute to minute. Yesterday it rained, and for qualifying it also drizzled and the track was a bit damp in spots. This meant that getting the ultimate lap could happen for almost anyone at any moment. Plus, when you add in the length of the lap, every little mistake is magnified that much more. What this means is that the grid for this race is sometimes more of a crapshoot than other races would be and it is very unpredictable. However, with Vettel leading the way ahead of Hamilton, I know who I’m picking to take victory in this race.

1. Sebastian Vettel

2. Lewis Hamilton

3. Felipe Massa

4. Fernando Alonso

5. Mark Webber

6. Bruno Senna

7. Jenson Button

8. Nico Rosberg

9. Jaime Alguersuari

10. Vitaly Petrov

I feel that Vettel is just going to be too fast on this track. Alonso got himself in a bad grid spot to start with and he has never won here, and won’t this year. It should be a tight fight up front between Vettel and Hamilton, as Hamilton always seems to do pretty well here, but I think the Red Bull will be just too fast this weekend. Also, I think Bruno Senna will have a really good showing. He needs to prove to the team that he is more than just the nephew of the best Formula One driver of all time. And I think that he will do a great job tomorrow.

I feel that Bruno will do such a good job because his race weekend coincides with the opening of the documentary on the life of his uncle, Ayrton Senna. I saw it yesterday and it was a very moving and tragic story. Of course I knew how it ended, but that didn’t take away any of the drama or the way it still hits you. That final weekend at Imola is so tense all the way through, that I was sitting forward in my seat, just waiting for that final impact. It’s still hard to watch and think that he could have been racing for years to come still. I never saw Senna race other than in videos, so it was a revelation some of the archival footage that was attained for this film. However, his race in Donington in 1993 in the wet is one of the greatest first laps ever, and they didn’t show that. This omission isn’t that huge a deal, but it simply added to his mythos and would have made audiences who didn’t, or don’t, know who he was, more aware of his amazing skills. I can only hope that with the release of the Blu Ray, there will be some archival footage that wasn’t shown in the film. I highly recommend you see the documentary if you get the chance, as it is something every Formula One, and sport in general, fan should witness.

 

Leave a Reply

